Group Members

1988 - 2013

25 Years of Remote Sensing in Africa!

RRSG's Homepage         Introduction         Projects         Theses

This page is divided into the following sections:

  1. Academic Staff
  2. Honorary Visiting Professors
  3. Honorary Research Associates
  4. Visiting Students
  5. Admin Assistant
  6. PhD Students
  7. MSc Students
  8. MEng Students
  9. Alumni

 

Academic Staff

Name Organisation Tel No. Email Address
Michael R. Inggs (PhD) (Professor)
Departmental Webpage
University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 2799 (UCT)
+27 (0)21 658 2756 (CHPC)
+27 (0)21 531 7282 (KAT)
michael.inggs@uct.ac.za
Andrew Wilkinson (PhD) (Associate Professor)
Departmental Webpage
University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 3803 andrew.wilkinson@uct.ac.za
Riana Geschke (PhD) (Associate Professor)
University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 2093 riana.geschke@uct.ac.za
Amit Kumar Mishra (PhD) (Senior Lecturer)
CV
University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 2794 amit.mishra@uct.ac.za
Simon Winberg (PhD) (Lecturer)
Departmental Webpage
University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 2793 simon.winberg@uct.ac.za
Andrew van der Byl (PhD) (Research Officer) University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 2039 a.vanderbyl@uct.ac.za

 

Honorary Visiting Professors

Name Organisation Tel No. Email Address
Chris J. Baker (PhD) (Professor) ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science, Canberra, Australia +61 2 6125 8807 Chris.Baker@anu.edu.au
Hugh D. Griffiths (PhD) (Professor) University College London, UK +44 (0) 20 7679 731 h.griffiths@ee.ucl.ac.uk

 

Honorary Research Associates

Name Organisation Tel No. Email Address
John Collins SimCon, UK +44 (1933) 66 4478 john_collins@simcon.uk.com
Brian T. Farrimond Liverpool Hope University, UK +44 (151) 291 3606 farrimb@hope.ac.uk
Dr Alan Langman (PhD) KAT / SKA Project, Pinelands, Cape Town +27 (0)21 531 7282 alan.langman@gmail.com
Dr Richard T. Lord (PhD) KAT / SKA Project, Pinelands, Cape Town +27 (0)21 531 7282 richardtlord@gmail.com
Dr Norman Morrison (PhD) University of Cape Town +27 (0)21 650 2792 norman.morrison@uct.ac.za
Dr Karl Woodbridge (PhD) University College London, UK +44 (20) 7679 3969 k.woodbridge@ee.ucl.ac.uk

 

Visiting Students

Name Organisation Tel No. Email Address
Shivvaan Sathasilvam School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering,
University of Adelaide, Australia
+27 (0)21 650 2799 shivvaan@eleceng.adelaide.edu.au

 

 

PhD Students

NameContact
Jeanine Engelbrecht | 2012
Topic: Advanced Differential interferometry for Geohazard Assessment

Council for Geoscience

+27 (0)21 948 4754

jengelbrecht@geoscience.org.za

Brandon Hamilton | 2012
Topic: A Unified Machine Model for Heterogeneous Computing

KAT / SKA Project, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 531 7282

brandon.hamilton@gmail.com

Janet Hewitson | 2012
Topic: Design of a many-core processor in support of a software autoparallelisation pipeline

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

janeruthh@gmail.com

Lerato Mohapi | 2013
Topic: Domain Specific Language for Software Defined Radio

UCT

Office: Menzies 6.13

leratojeffrey.mohapi@gmail.com

Jason Manley | 2012
Topic: Porting of a Software Platform for High Performance Reconfigurable Computing

KAT / SKA Project, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 531 7282

jasonmanley@gmail.com

Roaldje Nadjiasngar | 2012
Topic:

Office: 716

+27(0)21 650 2792

neddje@gmail.com

Willem Nel | 2012
Topic: Advancements in ISAR

wajnel@csir.co.za

Jacobus Sandenbergh | 2012
Topic: The Viability of Lowcast GPSDOs to Synchronize Netted Radar

ssandenbergh@gmail.com

Craig Tong | 2012
Topic: Networked Commensal Radar based on a Distributed Reference Signal Recording

Office: 7.14

+27(0)21 650 2792

craig.tong@uct.ac.za

Robyn Verrinder | 2012
Topic: Distributed Planning Algorithms for Multi-Robot Coordination in Complex Communication Limited Environments

Office: 413

robyn.verrinder@uct.ac.za

 

MSc Students

NameContact
Doreen Agaba | 2012
Topic: Trans-ionospheric Signal Propagation

rukundo06@yahoo.co.uk

Fuad Alibrahim | 2012
Topic: Spinning DF

fibrahiem@kacst.edu.sa

Abdullah Alzamil | 2012
Topic:

abdullah.alzamil@qmail.com

Waleed Alotaibi | 2012
Topic: Architecture Design For Radar for Human Gait

alotaibi.waleed@gmail.com

Matthew Bridges | 2012
Topic: Rhino MIMO Transducer

Office: 713

matthewbridges88@gmail.com

Benson Chan | 2012
Topic: Receiver Site Optimisation for PCL Radar System

Office: Radar Lab

bensonchan1984@hotmail.com

Shi-Huan Chen | 2012
Topic: Investigation of Communicationsn & Network for PCL / Parasitic Radar Systems

cire309@gmail.com

Valerie Edith Chiriseri | 2012
Topic: Rhino Client/Server Control Framework

Office: 7.13

valeriechiriseri@yahoo.co.uk

Richard Focke | 2012
Topic: Investigating the use of interval Algebra to Schedule Mechanically Steered Multistatic Radars

rwfocke@mweb.co.za

Shaun Katz | 2012
Topic: Block Encoded Generation

Office: 713

katzshaun@gmail.com

Garikai Mhunduru | 2012
Topic: Parallel Programming with F.E.R.S

Office: Radar Lab

vagatso@gmail.com

Mallin Moolman | 2012
Topic: Implementation of a beamformer currelator using partial reconfiguration

Office: Radar Lab

mallin.moolman@uct.ac.za

Saifudin Nakhwa | 2012
Topic: Remote Rhino 3G Cluster

saifudin1@gmail.com

Wesley Scott New | 2012
Topic: MgHDL FPGA Design Flow

6503756

wesnew@gmail.com

Alastair Penney | 2012
Topic: Design and Implementation of an AES Block on an FPGA platform

Office: 617

alastair.penney@gmail.com

Shanly Rajan | 2012
Topic: Automated Gateware Discovery Using Open Firmware

KAT / SKA Project, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 531 7282

shanlycallsu@gmail.com

Khobatha Setetemela | 2012
Topic: Design of an Open-Source Toolflow for the Rhino Patform

Office: Radar Lab

khobatha.setetemela@gmail.com

Rofhiwa Lutendo Takalani | 2012
Topic:

rofhiwa2002@gmail.com

Pei-Hung Tsai | 2012
Topic: Electronic Beamforming for Circular Array Antennas

tsai.evan.429@gmail.com

Richard Van Schalkwyk | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

richardfvs@gmail.com

Ryno Verster | 2012
Topic:

Office: 7.13

rynoverster@rocketmail.com

David Wright | 2012
Topic: Guidance & Control of Sounding Rockets

Office: Radar Lab

david.wright@uct.ac.za

 

M.Eng Radar Students

NameContact
Saad Ibraheem Alhuwaimel | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

huwaimel@kacst.edu.sa

Vanessa Jansen Van Rensburg | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

vanessa.jansenvanrensburg@uct.ac.za

Alan Jones | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

Office: Radar Lab

6503756

alanjon@gmail.com

Umur Kathree | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

mrkathree2@gmail.com

Tjantji Matemane | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

tsmatemane@gmail.com

Shaheen Mahomed | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

shaheen.mahomed@gmail.com

Ragesh Pillai | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

Office: Radar Lab

ragesh8187@gmail.com

Sulayman Salie | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

ssalie@csir.co.za

Adrian Dale Stevens | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

stevens.adrian@gmail.com

Keketso James Zwane | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

keketsoz@armscor.co.za

 

Alumni

NameContact
Saleh Alsaif | 2012
Topic: IFF Transceiver Card

Tellumat, Cape Town

alsaif_saleh@yahoo.com

Justin Abraham | 2012
Topic: SUCU Study

justin.abraham@yahoo.com

Stephen Middleton | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

smiddleton1609@gmail.com

Karthik Rajeswaran | 2012
Topic:

karthikr89@gmail.com

Johannes Jurgen Strydom | 2012
Topic: M.Eng Radar

jurgen.strydom@gmail.com

Alexander, Leon | 1994
Topic: The Planning of a South African Airborne Synthetic Aperture Radar Measuring Campaign(View abstract)

Leon.Alexander@uct.ac.za

Alston, Caireen E. | 1994
Topic: Standardising Modules for Tactical Command and Control Man-Machine Interfaces(View abstract)

caireen_alston@yahoo.com

Archer, Paul J. | 1997
Topic: Quick Look Processor for an Airborne SAR System(View abstract)
Ashok, Amit | 2001
Topic: Implementation and Analysis of A Bayesian Approach to Topographic Reconstruction with Multiple Antenna SAR Interferometry(View abstract)

ashokamit@gmail.com

Ballard, Norman | 1995
Topic: Electrode Length Measurement in Electric Arc Furnaces(View abstract)

theballardfamily@yahoo.com.au

Bauermeister, Etienne F. | 2005
Topic: Implementing a Ground Penetrating Radar User Interface in System-On-Chip Technology(View abstract)

etienne.bauermeister@gmail.com

Bennett, Thomas G.H. | 2003
Topic: Development of a Parallel SAR Processor on a Beowulf Cluster(View abstract)

lmzxq.tom@gmail.com

Bras, Johan J. | 1991
Topic: A Simulation of the Single Scan Accuracy of a Two-dimensional Pulsed Surveillance Radar(View abstract)

jbras@rrs.co.za

Brooker, Marc | 2008
Topic: The Design and Implementation of a Simulator for Multistatic Radar Systems (PhD) View abstract

mbrooker@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

Carter, Grant R. | 1998
Topic: System Level Simulation of Digital Designs: A Case Study(View abstract)

grantc@psitek.com

Chang, Ching-Wei Wesley | 2005
Topic: Systems Level Investigation of Television Based Bistatic Radar(View abstract)

wesleychang1981@gmail.com

Chen, Tai-Lin Greg | 2006
Topic: GPR Propagation Simulation and Fat Dipole Antenna Design(View abstract)

greg@aerofone.co.za

Coetzee, Shirley L. (née Wuyts) | 1997
Topic: Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Processing using Parallel Virtual Machine (PVM)(View abstract)
Coetzer, Darren G. | 2004
Topic: Design and Implementation of a X-band Transmitter and Frequency Distribution Unit for a Synthetic Aperture Radar(View abstract)

darrencoetzer2004@yahoo.co.uk

Cope, Michael K. | 2003
Topic: Design, Simulation and Implementation of a Digital Quadrature Demodulator for a Stepped Frequency Radar(View abstract)

Michael.Cope@flextronics.com

Del Mistro, Mario | 1992
Topic: A Study of Bistatic Radar and the Development of an Independent Bistatic Radar Receiver(View abstract)

mario.delmistro@eskom.co.za

Desai, Amresh | +/- 1999
Topic: VHF Imaging Radar (no abstract available)
Doyle, Gavin S. | 2000
Topic: Three Applications of Satellite Borne Repeat Pass SAR Interferometry in Southern Africa(View abstract)

gdoyle@webmail.co.za

Dunn, Sydney | 2008
Topic: A Study of the SA SKA RFI Measurement Systems(View abstract)

bobbyd_2000_us@yahoo.com

Eatock, Rebecca | 1994
Topic: A Spatially Variable Fertilizer Applicator System(View abstract)

allandbex@gatorzw.com

Fadiran, Oladipo O. | 2001
Topic: Design and Implementation of a Parallel Registration Algorithm for SAR Images(View abstract)

ofadiran@gmail.com

Farquharson, Gordon | 1999
Topic: Design and Implementation of a 200 to 1600 MHz Stepped Frequency Ground Penetrating Radar Transceiver(View abstract)

gordon@mirsl.ecs.umass.edu

Fullalove, Richard M. | 1994
Topic: Failsafe Display System(View abstract)

richard.fullalove@lr.org

Gambahaya, Sifiso B. | 2005
Topic: Design and Implementation of the Pillbox Antenna for SASARII(View abstract)

gamba007@hotmail.com

Gebhardt, Mark | 1995
Topic: Speckle Reduction in SAR Imagery(View abstract)

markg@saratoga.co.za

George, David | 2008
Topic: A High-Speed Testing Platform Using a 10Ge Switch for Radio Astronomy(View abstract)

dgeorgester@gmail.com

Golda, Peter J. | 1997
Topic: Software Simulation of a SAR(View abstract)

peter@myriads.com

Gwena, Tinashe | 2003
Topic: Gollach: Configuration of a Cluster based Linux Virtual Server(View abstract)
Hassenpflug, I. Gernot | 1996
Topic: Investigation of Developments in Interferometric Synthetic Aperture Radar until 1994(View abstract)

aikishugyo@gmail.com

Horrell, Jasper M. | 1999
Topic: Range-Doppler Synthetic Aperture Radar Processing at VHF Frequencies (PhD)(View abstract)

jasper.horrell@gmail.com

Isaacson, Adam R. | 2002
Topic: A 500kHz to 5MHz Stepped Frequency Borehole Tomographic Imaging System(View abstract)

aisaacson@rrs.co.za

Jongens, Adrian W.D. | 1993
Topic: Application of Cepstrum Techniques and Guard Tube to the Measurement of the Normal Incident Sound Power Absorption in situ(View abstract)

adrian.jongens@uct.ac.za

Kabutz, Marten H. | 1995
Topic: RF Hardware Design of a Stepped Frequency Continuous Wave Ground Penetrating Radar(View abstract)
Koeppen, Peter G. | +-1997
Topic: Airborne SAR and iSAR (No abstract available)
Kritzinger, Paul J. | 1991
Topic: A Spaceborne Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Processor Design(View abstract)
Kusel, Thomas W. | 1995
Topic: On the Waveform Fidelity of Broadband Digital Storage Architectures(View abstract)

thomas.kusel@gmail.com

Lange, Gunther | 2010
Topic: Investigation into Passive Radar Target Tracking Techniques

lange.gun@gmail.com

Langman, Alan | 2002
Topic: The Design of Hardware and Signal Processing for a Stepped Frequency Ground Penetrating Radar (PhD)(View abstract)

alan.langman@gmail.com

Lengenfelder, Rolf | 1998
Topic: The Design and Implementation of a Radar Simulator(View abstract)
Locke, Lisa S. (née Wray) | 2001
Topic: Synthetic Aperture Radar Image Simulator for Interferometry(View abstract)

llocke@arctechcomputers.ca

Lord, Richard T. | 2000
Topic: Aspects of Stepped-Frequency Processing for Low-Frequency SAR Systems (PhD)(View abstract)

richardtlord@gmail

Martens, Andrew | 2005
Topic: A High Speed Data Acquisition System(View abstract)

andrew.martens@gmail.com

McMahon, Peter L. | 2008
Topic: Adventures in Radio Astronomy Instrumentation and Signal Processing(View abstract)
Mngadi, Andile | 2007
Topic: L-band RFI Measurement System Simulation and Investigation(View abstract)

andile.mngadi@gmail.com

Modise, Stephen K. | 2003
Topic: Development of a Real Time Radar Data Acquisition System(View abstract)

karabom@mtnice.co.za

Mohungoo, Ajmal I. | 2004
Topic: An Airborne X-Band SAR Receiver Design and Implementation(View abstract)

ajmal7@gmail.com

Mountain, Alan N. | 2004
Topic: Calibration System for the Tracking Accuracy Measurement System (TAMS) using differential GPS (dGPS)(View abstract)

alanmountain_personal@yahoo.co.uk

Mukhopadhyay, K. Pradip | 2005
Topic: Three-dimensional Borehole Radar Imaging (PhD)(View abstract)

pkm_225@yahoo.com

Nyareli, Teboho N. | 2003
Topic: Development of a Cable Odometer with a Network Interface(View abstract)

TNyareli@csir.co.za

Phaladi, Shikoane Given | 2007
Topic: Using GPS bistatic signal for ocean and land remote sensing in South Africa(View abstract)

given@27four.com

Robinson, Anthony D. | 1996
Topic: Ship Target Recognition(View abstract)

anthonyr@saratoga.com

Salkinder, Jason | 2008
Topic: Design of a Low-Cost High Speed Data Capture Card for the Hubble Sphere Hydrogen Survey(View abstract)

jsalk@gmx.net

Serretta, Hyram | 1998
Topic: Ship Target Recognition(View abstract)

Hyram.Serretta@eskom.co.za

Tanser, Daniel J. | 2003
Topic: Simulation of a Slope Stability Radar for Opencast Mining(View abstract)

leadership@impact.co.zw

Tremeac, Yann | 1999
Topic: Top-Down Design of DSP Systems: A Case Study(View abstract)

yann.tremeac@gemplus.com

Van der Linden, C.P. | 1990
Topic: (View abstract)
Van der Riet, K.P. | 1991
Topic: Test System for Shipboard Antennas(View abstract)
Van Dyk, Clifford L. | 2002
Topic: The Design and Implementation of a Wideband Digital Radio Receiver(View abstract)

clifford@peralex.com

Van Schaik, Carl F. | 2002
Topic: The Development of a Node for a Hardware Reconfigurable Parallel Processor(View abstract)

carl.vanschaik@gmail.com

Wallis, Allen B. | 2001
Topic: The Design and Implementation of a Distributed Data Capture and Processing Framework for Ground Penetrating Radar(View abstract)

allen@openfuel.com

Watermeyer, Kalen | 2007
Topic: Design of a Hardware Platform for Narrow-band Software Defined Radio applications(View abstract)

kalen@peralex.com

Webster, Justin M. | 2004
Topic: The Development of a Radar Digital Unit for the SASAR II Project(View abstract)
Welsh, S.D. | 1991
Topic: A Spaceborne Synthetic Aperture Radar Data Processor(View abstract)
Williams, Lance P. | 2008
Topic: Implementing a RADAR Application using the Universal Software Radio Peripheral (USRP)(View abstract)

lance@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

Wu, Monica Wai-Man | 2008
Topic: The Characterisation of a Double-Conversion Superheterodyne Receiver(View abstract)

mango5sim@gmail.com

Zietsman, Christian F. | 2004
Topic: Theory, Design and Implementation of an IF Cancellation Module for use in a Stepped Frequency Continuous Wave Ground Penetrating Radar(View abstract)

cf_zietsman@intekom.co.za

Michael Aitken |
Topic: A Reconfigurable Accelerator Card for High Performance Computing

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

mike.aitken@gmail.com

Anria Cilliers |
Topic: Helicopter blade parameter extraction for purposes of radar non-cooperative target recognition

CSIR, Pretoria

+27 (0)12 841 4871

acilliers@csir.co.za

Jean-Paul da Conceicao |
Topic: Applications to be run on the Hydra Engine

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

jpdacon@gmail.com

Rian de Wind |
Topic: Tracking of small boats in high sea states with a X-band search radar

CSIR, Pretoria

+27 (0)12 841 3306

rdewind@csir.co.za

Georgie George |
Topic: Integration, Implementation and Testing of the X Band SASAR II Radar Unit

South African Weather Bureau

+27 (0)12 665 1594

georgie@weathersa.co.za

Michael Gorven |
Topic: High Performance Computing on the Cell Broadband Engine

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

mgorven@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

Sebastiaan Heunis |
Topic: Passive Radar and Passive Coherent Location (PCL) using Software Defined Radio techniques

sheunis@gmail.com

Ray Tsung-Jui Hsieh |
Topic: Base level hardware programming (electronics)

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

ray6402@gmail.com

Han Jingxu |
Topic: Evaluating performance of MIMO (Multiple Input and Multiple Output) PCL (Passive Coherent Location) Radar systems

joey@crg.ee.uct.ac.za

Roufurd Julie |
Topic: Fibre Optic Calibrator for Karoo Array Telescope

KAT / SKA Project, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 531 7282

roufurd.julie@gmail.com

Mahlatse Lekalakala |
Topic: To be finalised

mjlekalakala@gmail.com

Joseph Milburn |
Topic: Co-processor Offloading applied to Passive Coherent Location with Doppler and Bearing Data

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

joetendai@gmail.com

Sharef Neemat |
Topic:  Identification Friend or Foe (IFF) Environmental Simulator

Tellumat, Cape Town

+27(0)21 710 2086

sharefn@gmail.com

Khosi Peko  |
Topic: Design of Energy Degrader Controller for High Precision Radiotherapy

iThemba LABS

ntatepeko@gmail.com

Arjun Radhakrishnan |
Topic: Examination of the DiFX correlator

KAT / SKA Project, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 531 7282

arjun@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

Kanono Ramashamole |
Topic: Investigation of Tracking Filters

CSIR, Pretoria

+27 (0)12 841 2864

kanono@gmail.com

Makhamisa Senekane |
Topic: Design and Implementation of Manual VMEBus* Exerciser

iThemba LABS

+27 (0)21 843 1359

makhamisa12@gmail.com

Wayne Smith |
Topic: Commissioning a 400 Hz Power Supply

Eskom

+27 (0)11 800 6448

wayne.smith@eskom.co.za

Nick Thorne |
Topic: Developing an eco-system for the HTX co-processor card designed by fellow student Mike Aitken

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

thorne.nj@gmail.com

Aadil Volkwin |
Topic: Design and Implementation of a Controller Unit for SASAR II

aadil@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

Jonathan Ward |
Topic: Design and Implementation of a Non-Contact Level Measurement Instrument

jon@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

Andrew Woods |
Topic: A Radio Astronomy Correlator Implementation using High Performance Reconfigurable Computing

CHPC, Cape Town

+27 (0)21 658 3964

drew.woods@gmail.com

Yunus Abdul Gaffar |
Topic: Classification of Sea Vessels in a Persistent Surveillance Radar System using ISAR Imagery

CSIR, Pretoria

ynagaffar@csir.co.za

Albert Gazendam |
Topic: On the Performance Benchmarking of Storage Subsystems in High Performance Computing Environments

CSIR, Pretoria

+27 (0)12 841 4820

agazendam@csir.co.za

Stephan Sandenbergh |
Topic: A Low-Cost Time Synchronization Method for a Netted Radar System using Multi-channel Common View GPS Time Transfer

stephan@rrsg.ee.uct.ac.za

 

 

Return to RRSG's Homepage

This page was last updated in February 2009 (RL)